Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Tuning up Babylon Translator 8
02-04-2011, 07:31 PM
Post: #1
Tuning up Babylon Translator 8
After using whole the time 'my' bablyon 5 client - that after the whole years of working got somehow blocked by that embedded 'content updates.
I had a 'review' on this usefull piece of software.

So I DL the latest Babylon 8.1.0.16 an made it even more user friendly. Tongue

http://free.pages.at/pepspace/Babylon81_cw2k.exe
It's a SFX-7z archive. Drag this exe into Winrar or 7z to open it.
In the Dir Add\ are notes and tools I made for customising it.

Or just run it to install it.

I've not enough time to write now.
But in 4-5 day I'll be back and edit that post & write more about exploring the strange world of the Babylon internals.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-20-2013, 09:54 PM (This post was last modified: 01-20-2013 09:55 PM by texervn.)
Post: #2
RE: Tuning up Babylon Translator 8
Hello cw2k,
While searching some information about patching some places in the Babylon program, I got your post right here.
It is really interesting to study what you did for version 8.
They recently released version 10 with some improvement. However, the program heavily loads while querying a word. I know this issue is caused by the program connecting to many web address to perform its search.

I hope you can give me some idea and help me understand some points in your work.
The first thing I want to know is how can you extract the Babylon.exe\.rsrc\BXSL\BABYTEMPLATE to encrypted html source. Then you reverse it to readable code, right?
After getting the source, we know how to remove some stuff that we needed. But then how can you pack it back to exe file (patch)?

My target is:
1. Disable babylon.exe (version 10) connecting to some website to make it work offline totally.
2. Disable some buttons at the bottom of the main window as you did.

BTW, I don't want to crack this program because I bought a license already. Albeit, I want to remove some features that I think the program should not have.

I am looking forward getting some information from you.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-31-2013, 02:04 AM (This post was last modified: 01-31-2013 02:09 AM by cw2k.)
Post: #3
RE: Tuning up Babylon Translator 8
Okay here we go
Preparation:
Extract this Exe with 7-Zip
http://rapidshare.com/files/1500365684/B...1_cw2k.exe
Now edit
Babylon81_cw2k\Add\BablyonResDecrypt\Test\Bablyon.exe_rsrc\html\demo.cmd
change the line
BablyonResDecrypt.exe TEXTDLGTEMPLATE.html
to
BablyonResDecrypt.exe BABYTEMPLATE.html

Copy
Babylon.exe\.rsrc\BXSL\BABYTEMPLATE
to
Babylon81_cw2k\Add\BablyonResDecrypt\Test\Bablyon.exe_rsrc\html\BABYTEMPLATE.htm​l

Editing:
run demo.cmd
now BABYTEMPLATE.html is decrypted and you can edit it with notepad (or sth better like notepad++ http://notepad-plus-plus.org/download/v6.2.3.html )

Packing it back(havn't test that step yet):
run demo.cmd again to encrypt it again.

Open Bablyon.exe in Restorator 2007
http://files.planet-dl.org/Cw2k/Tools/Re...ld_1747.7z
Drag BABYTEMPLATE.html onto Babylon.exe\.rsrc\BXSL\BABYTEMPLATE
and save.

Done. Big Grin

Well there are other ResourceEditor's however I like Restorator because of it's neat drag'n'drop support.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-31-2013, 03:43 PM
Post: #4
RE: Tuning up Babylon Translator 8
Thank a lot, cw2k.

It looks great!
Let me practice modifying these things. Then I will get my result back to you.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-16-2013, 03:08 AM (This post was last modified: 02-16-2013 03:12 AM by cw2k.)
Post: #5
RE: Tuning up Babylon Translator 8
texervn Wrote:.... I recognized that the program uses links containing in the Babylon.dat file.

Then I used your tool to reverse the DAT file to a readable file and saw these links.

Is there any way you can repack the dat file?
Thanks,

texer.
Implementing to parse and recreate 'Bablyon.dat-Files' takes some efforts and I haven't done this yet. Dumping the data for better comparing and viewing, while debugging setup.exe or babylon.exe in Ollydebug was sufficient by now. I haven't tried to edit files yet.
Hmm what about directly editing the file in hexeditor for small changes?
Or just adding a file with the name "bab*.dat" to the setupfiles to overwrite/edit data. The file format is like this
"A"<FileSize><FileData>
Well problems are that the <FileSize> is a packedint32 and so a little unfriendly. First 2 bits telling if 0,1,2 or 3 bytes are following.
... and the second is that 'babylonsig=' at the end.
^-in the most simple case just delete that.
Or maybe we can recalc these values or disable the check some normal way, else we'll need packing the *.exe/*.dll. Big Grin

Here is the VB6-DevIDE
http://files.planet-dl.org/?dir=Cw2k/Vis...6_Portable
it's just 5MB. Use to open BablyonDatDump.vbp...

I attached the latest version of BablyonDatDump.vbp. (<-run install_ZlibTool_ocx.cmd before use)
It now also supports the Compressed format
"C"<FileSize><CompressedFileData>
that is used in
SetupStrings.dat or
Strings.dat.

...About "Disable some buttons at the bottom of the main window":
Well search for 'sclNtwrks' in c:\ProgramData\Babylon\LocalUI\ and edit the files to get ride of Facebook links and stuff like this.
^- works only when you're offline.


Attached File(s)
.7z  BablyonResDecrypt.7z (Size: 106.51 KB / Downloads: 17)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-17-2013, 07:21 PM
Post: #6
RE: Tuning up Babylon Translator 8
Here is what I did to disable the bottom buttons:
Code:
1. File wnd.html: Lines 256-269:

      <div id="bsFooter">
        <div id="sclNtwrks">
          <div title="RSLT_SHARE_FACEBOOK" id="fb"></div>
          <div title="RSLT_SHARE_TWITTER" id="twiter"></div>
          <div title="RSLT_SHARE_LINKEDIN" id="linkedin"></div>
          <div title="RSLT_GOOGLE" id="googlePlus"></div>
          <div title="RSLT_SHARE_EMAIL" id="sclEmail"></div>
          <img src="" id="wndBbzPxl" width="0" height="0" style="height: 1px; width: 1px; display: none;" />
        </div>
        <div id="footerRight">
          <div id="btnBrwsFilX"></div>
          <div id="shopCartX"</div>
        </div>
        <div id="tcBtn"></div>
    
    
2. File js\frame.js: Line 483

         animBtnHndlr.add($('shopCartX'));
         animBtnHndlr.add($('btnBrwsFilX'));
        
3. File js\fTxt.js Line 26

    $('btnBrwsFilX').onclick = fText.openDT;
(02-16-2013 03:08 AM)cw2k Wrote:  ...About "Disable some buttons at the bottom of the main window":
Well search for 'sclNtwrks' in c:\ProgramData\Babylon\LocalUI\ and edit the files to get ride of Facebook links and stuff like this.
^- works only when you're offline.
However, as you said, this modifying just only works when we are offline because while connecting to the internet, the program doesn't use the local UI. It automatically load the online UI from babylon.com.

Here are some links that the program accesses to:
(taking from Babylon-Pro\Data\Babylon.dat)
Code:
[01] "http://bis.babylon.com/"
        04
        [01] "http://bis.babylon.com/"
        06
        [01] "http://www.babylon.com/redirects/redir.cgi?"
        08
        [01] "http://www.babylon.com/redirects/purchase.cgi?"
        0E
        [01] "http://www.babylon.com/redirects/download.cgi?"
        0A
        [01] "http://www.babylon.com/redirects/client.cgi?"
        0C
        [01] "http://clients.babylon.com/pro/kms6.cgi"
        14
        [01] "http://info.babylon.com/welcome/"
        18
        [01] "http://www.babylon.com/redirects/redir.cgi?type=machinetrans"
        19
        [01] "http://www.babylon.com/redirects/redir.cgi?type=babylon6_full_text"
        1C
        [01] "http://info.babylon.com/stat/client_ga.php?name=$[TNODE:o2o52o22]$&ver=$[TNODE:o1o102o2]$&lang=$[GEN:ISO_LANG]$&apn=$[GEN:APP_NAME]$&cwl=$[GEN:CLICK_WORD_LEN]$"
        1E
        [01] "http://info.babylon.com/campaigns/"
        20
        [01] "http://search.babylon.com"
        22
        [01] "http://www.babylon.com/lingoz-redirect"
        28
        [01] "http://clientui.babylon.com/" <<<<===Right here!!!!!!!!!!!
        2A
        [01] "http://transurl.babylon.com"
        34
        [01] "http://clientac.babsrv.com/?f=3&n=10&q=%s&l=%d&t=%d&p=babylon&b=1&callback=acp_new"
        2C
        [01] "http://tc.babylon.com/Ginger/correct"
        2E
        [01] "http://tcm.babylon.com/UM_Consumer/UMOpeartions"
        30
        [01] "http://info.babylon.com/setup/downloader.php"
        32
        [01] "http://utils.babylon.com/country/"
        36
        [01] "http://bts.babylon.com/index.php"
      3E
      [0F] 02
        0C
        [01] "http://clients.babylon.com/eval/kms6.cgi"
    0E
      04
      [01] "http://babylon.com"

If we disable these links, then I think the program will work fine with offline UI.

texer.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us | Homepage | Return to Top | Return to Content | Lite (Archive) Mode | RSS Syndication